What on this blessed planet earth compels people to write on bathroom walls? I’m not talking about graffiti which I am somewhat pro. I am referring to the scribbles beyond ‘I love Jamal.’ For instance in the library bathroom of my Alma Mater, there were distracting etchings all over the stalls. One of my personal favorite inscriptions was ‘Witches in America are Satanic’ in size 100 font.

Most of the writings were a public debate forum. I suppose students and faculty alike felt the need to talk about politics, syntax, race, and gender above and below the toilet paper dispenser. You think a classroom would be a more suitable location for this discourse.

I just don’t think you stand a good chance of winning a bathroom wall battle. It is difficult to monitor. Your opponent might strike back and you will miss the chance to defend yourself on your beliefs about abortion. With one swipe of a janitor’s paint brush all of your well thought out ideas are erased.

Or worse someone can take vengeance upon you and alter your words completely. For example, you may write:

“Influential Mormons have allowed bigamy and assuredly violated womens’ rights.”

Some marks with a sharpie can change it to:

“I have a big ass.”

You know what people say about twisting your words, or letters.

Tagged , ,

2 thoughts on “

  1. smithzelda says:

    If we are friends, how lucky I am, for we have too many same habits, and I like writing too.

  2. smithzelda says:

    If we are friends, how lucky I am, for we have too many same habits, and I like writing too.

Leave a Reply

