Imaginary Lines

I’m thinking about the nature of lines and how lots of lines are quite imaginary. Here is what I’ve come up with-

  • Geography contours – Prime Meridian, Equator, the Tropic of Cancer, and not to mention the Tropic of Capricorn. And then there is the International Dateline which really just annoys everybody with all its zigs and zags.
  • As a wee thing, when I had to share my room with my little sister, there was an invisible barrier separating her earthly possessions from mine.
  • This reminds me of another – No Man’s Land, must keep opposing forces at bay
  • Finish Lines (in the life, poetic, metaphorical, whimsical sense, not on the track)
  • The horizon (because when you think real hard or not so hard about it, it doesn’t exist!)
  • Bus Lines are simply the routes that your Grey Hound takes to get to Oklahoma City. There is no spray paint on the roads!
  • Lasers (nothing tangible there). This is a weak example, because it is visible. Stop playing by the rules reader!
  • Online (the internet is sort of ghost like, don’t you think?)
  • Guidelines are meant to be thrown away. Again if teach hands you a paper with written do’s and dont’s, this example doesn’t work. I like to point out the weaknesses in my argument, so you don’t have to.
  • When one “crosses the line” by being a really jerk making jokes about 9/11.
  • Fishing lines are almost lost as well; they are clear and easy to get tangled up in.

And this brings me to the most important abstract boundary of all, and that’s called your “bubble.” Please do not invade my personal space. This line encircles me around with a radius of one foot. Unless I invite you.

Leave a Reply

