Drinking out of jars

I like country spreads more than most people.

And not just mashed potatoes and chicken fried. I like props – aprons, rocking chairs, and needlepoints with cheeky sayings.

I like families gathering around, getting grandpop and the lesbian aunt all around the same table. There nothing ain’t like momma churning butter and serving up fresh milk from Besey.

But listen. I do not want to sip Besey’s laiche from a jar. The ridges on a jar do not make for good drinking.

Iced tea, or whatever good Christian beverage you like, spills on bibs most of the time, with these inadequate drink containers.

I prefer a smooth surface to rest on my lip, rather than a jagged object that formerly housed pickles, olives, or baby food. I’m just sayin’.

Tagged , ,

Leave a Reply

