the best advice

I was polling my kitchen cabinet of friends a little bit ago. I wanted to know what the best advice they had ever received was. Turns out, this is one of the most difficult questions ever asked. Where is an oracle when you need one? I can’t answer this queshun myself. I think this is because advice is seldom taken. We talk to our friends, or family members, or our shamans for solace. In reality, I find that very few people heed the advice that was served up to them on that cafeteria tray. Advice is candy for the ears. If you don’t digest it, less calories to count. Also the whole part about only hearing what you want to hear, that plays in as well.

In the unfortunate event of a problem arising, humans tend to vent. We want to share our problem, because then the weight of it does not rest only upon us. I know that I feel so much better when I just tell someone what is wrong. Even if it is stupid. And especially when I am acting loco, which has be frequently as of late.

My dad likes to psychiatrist people, because well, that is his profesh. Throughout my life he has had many words, little meaning. Just kidders. I came across an old journal and something that my dad told me caught my glimmering eyes. I was going through a tough time – the whole figuring-out-what-you-are-going-to-do-with-the-rest-of-your-life query was chafing me. Oh who is kidding. It is still quite chafing. But something he told me, that I almost forgot, is this-

The only thing keeping people from getting what they want is themselves.

Now I will proceed to tell you why I like this. I very much want to believe that I have control and responsibility over my life, and the outcomes. This places all the blame on moi-meme. It’s an interesting way of thinking. What am I doing, how am I hindering myself from getting what I want? A couple things come to mind – mainly bar tabs and focusing and discipline. Also, it is helpful to try and not forget good advice. Easier said than done. Sounds like I need to consult my dog eared copy of Chicken Noodle Soup for the Teenager’s Soul. I’ll tell you what I find.

Tagged ,

Leave a Reply

